Fiduciary Investors Symposium Digital

June 23-24, 2020

Online digital conference

Time zones

The digital event will be run across the following time zones on June 23 and 24:

UTC -7 (Sacramento): 6.00am - 10.30am
UTC -4 (New York): 9.00am - 1.30pm
UTC +1 (London): 2.00pm - 6.30pm
UTC +2 (Paris): 3.00pm - 7.30pm
UTC +4 (Abu Dhabi): 5.00pm - 9.30pm
UTC +8 (Singapore): 9.00pm - 1.30am
UTC +10 (Sydney): 11.00pm - 3.30am

THE CATALYST FOR REFORMED FIDUCIARY THINKING

 

The Fiduciary Investors Symposium 2020 global digital program will address the pertinent issues for investors in navigating a crisis environment. It will explore the leadership and investment issues in the short and long term including the disruption to portfolio construction, liquidity and risk management issues, and the need to fast-track purpose before profit. It will explore the changing nature of the global economy and whether the status quo processes and behaviours that investment professionals undertake to tackle risks and opportunities will be sufficient in the future.

This online interactive conference will bring together investors and speakers to share the stories and ideas around investment opportunities out of this crisis and how it can be an opportunity for a more equal and sustainable economy.

Key Speakers

Esther Duflo

Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics, MIT; current winner Nobel Prize in Economics

5:25pm – 5:55pmWAYS TO CHANGE THE WORLD

Ian Goldin

Professor of Globalisation and Development, Oxford University

2:05pm – 2:30pmCOVID-19: THE END OF GLOBALISATION?

Stephen Kotkin

Professor in History and International Affairs, Princeton University

3:00pm – 3:35pmGEOPOLITICAL RISKS, UNCERTAINTY AND THE COVID CRISIS

Colin Mayer

Professor of Management Studies, Oxford University

3:55pm – 4:30pmPURPOSEFUL COMPANIES

Ben Meng

Chief investment officer, CalPERS

5:20pm – 5:50pmINVESTOR FIRESIDE CHAT

Arjen Pasma

Chief risk officer, investments, PGGM

4:30pm – 5:00pmOPERATIONAL RISKS AND SUPPLY CHAIN ISSUES

Fiona Reynolds

Chief executive, PRI

3:55pm – 4:30pmPURPOSEFUL COMPANIES

Olivier Rousseau

Executive director, Fonds de Reserve pour les Retraites

2:30pm – 3:00pmINVESTOR RESPONSES

Sponsors

PLatinum

Gallery

“To enhance my knowledge as both a practitioner and a citizen of the world”

William LeeChief investment officer, New York Presbyterian Hospital (United States)

It was mind-bending. Lots of food for thought which I will use not only for the asset owner for which I am a director but also for other boards on which I serve

Bill LongbrakeBoard member, Washington State Investment Board (United States)

Outstanding content on the future of long term investing in a low interest environment

Neil Murphyvice president, Corporate communications, Investment Management Corporation of Ontario (Canada)

To step out of the daily work and lift thoughts to look at some big issues or emerging change in the guidance of leading scholars is of immense value and very stimulating!

Niina Bergring,Chief investment officer, Veritas Pensionforsakring (Finland)

Interacting with an international group of investors and engaging in conversations sparked by the terrific presentations we heard together.

Howard Berner JrChief investment officer, Principia College (United States)

Thought-provoking sessions and a handful of really high-quality interactions with peers.

Tommi MoilanenInvestment strategist, strategic allocation and quantitative models, KEVA (Finland)

Presenters that challenged my thinking

Dana DillonBoard member, California State Teachers' Retirement System (United States)

Deeper conversation on subjects of relevance and the opportunity to discuss these topics with other pension plan executives and academics

Sanford RichExecutive director, NYC Board of Education Retirement System (United States)

Newsfeed

State Street chief predicts decade ahead

By | Coverage, stories | No Comments

Low for ever, a risen China and climate change, are just some of the 10 changes set to sweep through the investment industry in the next 10 years, said Cyrus Taraporevala, president and chief executive of State Street Global Advisors. In his opening speech to 85 asset owners from 20 countries responsible for a combined $9 trillion assets under management at the Fiduciary Investors Symposium at Harvard University, Taraporevala described a brave new world where only the fittest survive.

Read More

NYC Retirement Systems’ S in ESG

By | Coverage, stories | No Comments

“We take the S in ESG very seriously,” said John Adler, mayor’s trustee and advisor to the other mayoral appointees at New York City’s $200 billion five retirement systems. Speaking at the Fiduciary Investors Symposium at Harvard University, Adler highlighted the critical role investors play in protecting workers’ rights and ensuring a just transition as the global economy adapts to the implications of climate change.

Read More